About Us

The cell was started in January 2019 in the University for promoting and adopting SWAYAM MOOCs and digital learning. The cell conducted a series of awareness meetings with students and faculty members of various subjects to promote SWAYAM MOOCs.


SWAYAM Cell of HNB Garhwal University (A Central University) aims for promoting and implementing SWAYAM online courses, blended/ flipped learning and e-learning in the University.


  1. To promote SWAYAM Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) in University for faculty,

  2. students.

  3. To promote departments for identifying and adopting the MOOCs for credit transfer in

  4. various subjects.

  5. To increase the awareness about the ICT enabled learning.

  6. To provide support to the learners enrolled in various SWAYAM courses.

  7. To provide the support through SWAYAM MOOCs to school students, teachers and the nonformal learners of society.

University SWAYAM Board

With the approval of Hon’ble Vice Chancellor a University SWAYAM board is hereby constituted. The University SWAYAM board shall act as an academic expert committee for advisory and executive role with respect to adaptation of SWAYAM MOOCs (including UGC, CEC, NPTEL, IIMBx and all other NCs) and promoting blended, flipped and e-learning in the University. The members of the board are as followed.

Constitution of University SWAYAM Advisory Board

  • Hon’ble Vice Chancellor - Chair Person

  • Registrar - Member

  • Finance Officer - Member

  • Controller of Exam/(s) - Member

  • Campus Director (Chauras, Pauri, Tehri)- Member

  • Deans of Schools - Members

  • Director IQAC - Member

  • DSW - Member

  • Prof. D.S. Negi, Deptt. of Maths, Srinagar- Advisor (Internal)

  • Prof. Manjula Rana, Head, Deptt. of Hindi- Advisor (Internal)

  • Prof. N.S. Panwar, Head, USIC - Advisor (Internal)

  • Prof. Indu Pandey Khanduri, Head, Deptt. of Philosophy- Advisor (Internal)

  • Dr Manas Ranjan Panigrahi, Programme Officer (Education) CEMCA, New Delhi at Commonwealth of Learning- Advisor (External)

  • Dr Rajat Agarwal, Associate Professor, Deptt. of Business Management, IIT Roorkee - Advisor (External)

  • Dr Rakshak Jain, Sr. Producer, EMRC, IIT Roorkee - Advisor (External)

  • Prof. A. P. Behera, Joint Director, CIET, NCERT, New Delhi - Advisor (External)

  • Prof. Rudra Sahoo, Education specialist, UNICEF (Learning) - Advisor (External)

  • Prof. K Srinivas, Head, ICT & Project Management, NIEPA, New Delhi - Advisor (External)

  • Dr Ajay Semalty, Asstt. Prof., Pharmacy, University SWAYAM coordinator